News

Pro Tour Avacyn Restored Invitation List Finalized

  • Print
Author Image

The letter A!s the calendar turns to April, the invitation list for Pro Tour Avacyn Restored has been finalized. A total of 434 players are invited to Barcelona to battle in the Innistrad-Avacyn Restored Block Constructed and Avacyn Restored Booster Draft formats on May 11–13.

The title of Pro Tour Avacyn Restored champion isn't the only major achievement on the line that weekend. May 13 marks the end of the qualifying period for slots in the World Magic Cup given to the top pro in each country, as well as the five geo-region slots and five at-large slots for the Players Championship to be held later this summer. It's also the last chance for players to earn Pro Points to set their 2012–13 Pro Players Club levels.

Who will emerge among Brian Kibler, Luis Scott-Vargas, Josh Utter-Leyton, Matthew Costa, and David Ochoa to secure the top spot among US pros for the World Magic Cup? Which players will secure their spots at Silver, Gold, and Platinum levels in the Pro Club? Will the Top 8 be headlined by Hall of Famers like Pro Tour Dark Ascension, or is there a Pro Tour newcomer a month away from earning a place in history? There's never been a Pro Tour with so much on the line for so many players!

Beginning with Pro Tour Avacyn Restored, Wizards of the Coast is awarding Sponsor's Exemption invitations and airfare to players who showed excellence in play and positive community activity during the qualifying season but did not earn an invitation through other means. This consideration includes quantity and quality of finishes at Grand Prix events, Pro Tour Qualifiers, and Pro Tour Dark Ascension. Sponsor's Exemption invitations for Pro Tour Avacyn Restored have been awarded to Caleb Durward (USA), Pascal Maynard (Canada), Eric Meng (USA), Ben Friedman (USA), and Till Riffert (Germany). At the conclusion of future qualifying seasons, Wizards of the Coast will examine the list of uninvited players and award Sponsor's Exemption invitations at its sole discretion.

You can see a complete list of invited players here.

The live coverage of Pro Tour Avacyn Restored begins Friday, May 11, on DailyMTG.com and twitch.tv/magicprotour. The live video stream starts Friday at 9 a.m. Barcelona time (3 a.m. EDT) with Brian David-Marshall, Rich Hagon, Rashad Miller, Sheldon Menery, Zac Hill, and Marshall Sutcliffe bringing you round-by-round coverage, player interviews, deck techs, and behind-the-scenes information from inside Magic R&D. Stay on top of every tidbit leading up to the Pro Tour and all the weekend's action by using the official hashtag #ptavr. Find a time zone near you in the chart below to know when to tune in for the live stream.

City Friday Saturday Sunday
Barcelona 9 a.m. 10 a.m. 10:45 a.m.
Los Angeles Midnight 1 a.m. 1:45 a.m.
Chicago 2 a.m. 3 a.m. 3:45 a.m.
New York 3 a.m. 4 a.m. 4:45 p.m.
Rio de Janeiro 4 a.m. 5 a.m. 5:45 a.m.
London 8 a.m. 9 a.m. 9:45 p.m.
Paris 9 a.m. 10 a.m. 10:45 a.m.
Berlin 9 a.m. 10 a.m. 10:45 a.m.
Moscow 11 a.m. Noon 12:45 p.m.
Tokyo 4 p.m. 5 p.m. 5:45 p.m.
Sydney 5 p.m. 6 p.m. 6:45 p.m.

For complete information on Pro Tour Avacyn Restored, visit this page.

Find a Qualifier Near You!
Find a Qualifier Near You!

Looking for a path on the Pro Tour? Check out the list of ways to earn an invitation here. The new qualifying season starts April 7, so find a Pro Tour Qualifier near you and get started on your road to Pro Tour Return to Ravnica in Seattle, to be held October 19–21.

  • Planeswalker Points
  • Facebook Twitter
  • Gatherer: The Magic Card Database
  • Forums: Connect with the Magic Community
  • Magic Locator