2012 Magic Players Championship Event Information

The 2012 Magic Players Championship showcases the best players in the world battling against one another for the title of Player of the Year. Sixteen players will be invited to compete across three formats for the title and $40,000 first prize, with a total cash purse exceeding $100,000. In addition to the prize money, players earn one Pro Point for each match win during the first two days and two points per match win on the final day.

Event Coverage

The live video webcast for the 2012 Magic Players Championship begins Wednesday morning and runs all three days. The live video stream can be found at www.wizards.com/webcast.

Webcast Schedule

City Wednesday Thursday Friday
Seattle 11:45 a.m. 11:45 a.m. 1:30 p.m.
Los Angeles 11:45 a.m. 11:45 a.m. 1:30 p.m.
Chicago 1:45 p.m. 1:45 p.m. 3:30 p.m.
New York 2:45 p.m. 2:45 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
Rio de Janeiro 3:45 p.m. 3:45 p.m. 5:30 p.m.
London 7:45 p.m. 7:45 p.m. 9:30 p.m.
Paris 8:45 p.m. 8:45 p.m. 10:30 p.m.
Berlin 8:45 p.m. 8:45 p.m. 10:30 p.m.
Moscow 10:45 p.m. 10:45 p.m. 12:30 a.m. Friday
Tokyo 3:45 a.m. Thursday 3:45 a.m. Thursday 5:30 a.m. Saturday
Sydney 4:45 a.m. Thursday 4:45 a.m. Thursday 6:30 a.m. Saturday

In addition to the live video stream, text coverage will be available at DailyMTG.com starting Wednesday morning, live chat sessions with players, R&D staff, and coverage reporters will take place at various times during the three days on CoverItLive, and video content will be posted to YouTube on the wizardsmtg channel.

The official Twitter hashtag for the 2012 Magic Players Championship is #mtgpc.

Media Requests

Please send an email to press@wizards.com if you wish to set up a media credential for the 2012 Magic Players Championship. Wizards of the Coast asks that all media requests be submitted by August 15 (two weeks prior to the event). Requests made after that date, including requests made on-site, may be denied.

Event Location

Showbox at the Market
1426 1st Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101

Tournament Format

Finish Prize Money
1 $40,000
2 $20,000
3-4 $10,000
5-8 $5,000
9-16 $1,000
Total $108,000
Players earn one Pro Point per match win in the Swiss rounds and two Pro Points per match win in the Playoffs.

Day 1 (Wednesday, August 29)

  • Magic "Cube" Booster Draft – 3 Swiss rounds.
  • Modern constructed – 3 Swiss rounds.

Day 2 (Thursday, August 30)

  • Magic 2013 Booster Draft – 3 Swiss rounds.
  • Modern constructed – 3 Swiss rounds.

Advancement to Playoff

  • All players may participate in all 12 Swiss rounds of Wednesday and Thursday's competition.
  • The top 4 players after round 12 will advance to Friday's Playoffs.

Day 3 (Friday, August 31) - Playoffs

  • Playoff matches will be Modern constructed format.
  • Playoff matches will be single-elimination.
  • Playoff matches will be best 3 of 5.
  • Where necessary, the standings after the Swiss rounds will still be used to determine final order in the standings.

Round Times

  • All rounds during days 1 and 2 will be 55 minutes per round.
  • Day 3 single-elimination payoff matches have no time limit; however, players are expected to play at a reasonable pace and finish their matches within 90 minutes.

Other Tournament Information

  • Planeswalker Points
  • Facebook Twitter
  • Gatherer: The Magic Card Database
  • Forums: Connect with the Magic Community
  • Magic Locator